Deutsche Bank Group  |  Social Responsibility  |  Deutsche Bank Collection  |  Deutsche Guggenheim  |  Deutsch  
Home Feature On View News Press Archive Service
This category contains the following articles
INDIA AWAKENS at the Essl Museum
Color Fields at the Deutsche Guggenheim
2010 California Biennial
Homage to a Metropolis: Berlin Images in the Kunsthalle Koidl
Deutsche Bank Supports São Paulo Biennial
Being Singular Plural
After great success in Argentina: Beuys and Beyond - Teaching as Art now in Mexico City

Print

Send a friend
Art as Lifesaver
2010 California Biennial


The California Biennial provides a good opportunity to discover the contemporary art scene on the American west coast. This year, numerous projects address current social issues. The show at the Orange County Museum of Art is once again supported by Deutsche Bank.


Sarah Bancroft visited nearly 150 artist's studios before finally selecting the 45 artists for the current California Biennial. The curator has set herself high standards for documenting the state of affairs regarding innovative west coast art. Many of the artists presented in the Orange County Museum of Art are young; their works bring together a variety of cultural identities and traditions. The participants react consciously to current social phenomena, such as the dire situation on the border to neighboring Mexico. For many migrants, the dream of a better life in the USA ends terribly: they die of thirst in the desert surrounding the border area. The Transborder Immigrant Tool (TBT) of the collective Electronic Disturbance Theater/ b.a.n.g. lab seeks to prevent this by implanting new software into cheap used cell phones containing a GPS. These phones then guide the illegal migrants to water supplies which the human rights activists have hidden for them.

Compared with TBT, the paintings of Taravat Talepasand might seem conservative at first glance. Yet the artist of Iranian descent combines old Persian miniature painting done in a painstaking egg tempera process with controversial themes. One of her works, Censored Garden (2008), explores sexuality and censorship: a woman cloaked in a black chador stands in the midst of decorative and colorful flowers. Yet her body is composed of flesh-colored pixels-her figure appears naked. It is a mode of representation that seems ambivalent: on the one hand, the pixels offer protection against prying eyes, and on the other the image reads like a challenge to look more closely and decode the hidden motif.

Whether it's Tino Sehgal staging his "situations" in the rotunda of the New York Guggenheim Museum or Marina Abramovic sitting on a wooden chair for over 700 hours at the MoMA-performance works that directly involve the public are currently undergoing a comeback. This also goes for the California Biennial, for which the Los Angeles Urban Rangers have organized discovery tours in the environs of the Orange County Museum of Art. The collective, comprised of artists, writers, and geographers dressed in special khaki uniforms, explore the various, primarily urban "biotopes" in the area, ranging from Hollywood Boulevard to the public beach of Malibu. Another artist, David Wilson, also calls upon visitors to the Biennial to enter existing locations on foot. He has designed a map that leads to places exhibiting a particularly evident blend of traffic-ridden suburb and industrial area so typical for many Californian communities. And while Agitprop interviews museum visitors, Flora Wiegmann, who works at the intersection between dance and art, will put on 13 performances over the course of the Biennial.

Fans of painting and photography can also count on exciting discoveries at the California Biennial. The abstract compositions of Patrick Wilson seem to transport Hard Edge and Color Field painting into the 21st century. His precisely traced lines and surfaces evince an enormous sensitivity to the effects of color, form, and texture. "This is how it might look if Donald Judd had designed rainbows," writes the L.A. Times. On the other hand, the photo works of Dru Donovan remain in a classic black and white, presenting their young protagonists in scenes that can never be fully deciphered. Evidently, the numerous studio visits Sarah Bancroft made have paid off. This year, the California Biennial once again presents a vital scene that can perhaps only emerge in the multicultural environment of California.
A.D.

2010 California Biennial
Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach
10/24/2010 - 3/13/2011




Newsletter
Stay up-to-date on contemporary art-with ArtMag. Register here for our newsletter.
 

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

Feature
Yto Barrada Deutsche Bank’s „Artist of the Year“ 2011 / Howard Hodgkin: The Secret of Color / A Conversation between David Moos and Richard Armstrong / Per Kirkeby: Nordic Loner / An Interview with Katharina Grosse / Interview with Matthew Slotover, director of the Frieze Art Fair / Are the new financial centers the new centers for art as well?
News
Edge of Arabia: Deutsche Bank Sponsors Exhibition in Istanbul / Deutsche Bank Wins the Art & Work Award / Deutsche Bank Supports Edward Hopper Show at the Whitney Museum / The Highlights of the Frieze Art Fair 2010 / The current exhibition at the Wall Gallery of Deutsche Bank / Deutsche Guggenheim events during Art Forum in Berlin / Ayse Erkmen’s Project for Witte de With / Youtube Play: Shortlist Announced
Press
The Press on the Frieze Art Fair 2010 / The Press on Being Singular Plural / The Press on Beuys and Beyond in Buenos Aires
Imprint  |  Legal Resources  |  Accessibility
Copyright © 2012 Deutsche Bank AG, Frankfurt am Main


+  ++  +++

Deutsche Bank Gruppe  |  Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung  |  Sammlung Deutsche Bank  |  Deutsche Guggenheim  |  English  
Home Feature On View News Presse Archiv Service
Diese Kategorie enthält folgende Artikel
INDIA AWAKENS im Essl Museum
Color Fields im Deutsche Guggenheim
2010 California Biennial
Hommage an eine Metropole: Berliner Bilder in der Kunsthalle Koidl
Deutsche Bank fördert die São Paulo Biennale
Being Singular Plural
Nach großem Erfolg in Argentinien: Beuys and Beyond jetzt in Mexico City

drucken

weiterempfehlen

Kunst als Lebensretter
2010 California Biennial



Eine gute Gelegenheit, die aktuelle Kunstszene der amerikanischen Westküste zu entdecken, bietet die California Biennial. Dieses Jahr thematisieren zahlreiche Projekte aktuelle gesellschaftliche Fragen. Die Schau im Orange County Museum of Art wird erneut von der Deutschen Bank unterstützt.




Fast 150 Künstlerateliers hat Sarah Bancroft besucht, um schließlich 45 Positionen für die aktuelle California Biennial auszuwählen. Der Anspruch der Kuratorin ist hoch, gilt es doch, den Stand der Dinge in Sachen innovativer Westcoast-Kunst zu dokumentieren. Viele der im Orange County Museum of Art präsentierten Künstler sind jung, in ihren Werken verbinden sich unterschiedliche kulturelle Identitäten und Traditionen. Dabei reagieren die Teilnehmer ganz dezidiert auf aktuelle gesellschaftliche Phänomene, etwa die Situation an der Grenze zum benachbarten Mexiko. Für zahlreiche Migranten endet der Traum von einem besseren Leben in den USA auf schreckliche Weise: Sie verdursten in der Wüste des Grenzgebiets. Das Transborder Immigrant Tool (TBT) des Kollektivs Electronic Disturbance Theater/ b.a.n.g. lab soll dies verhindern: Billigen, gebrauchten Handys mit GPS wurde eine neue Software implantiert. Sie weist illegalen Grenzgängern den Weg zu Wasservorräten, die Menschenrechtsaktivisten für sie versteckt haben.

Verglichen mit dem TBT könnten die Gemälde von Taravat Talepasand auf dem ersten Blick etwas konventionell wirken. Doch die aus dem Iran stammende Künstlerin verbindet altpersische Miniaturmalerei in aufwendiger Eitempera-Technik mit brisanten Themen. So setzt sich Censored Garden (2008) mit Sexualität und Zensur auseinander: Inmitten dekorativ rankender, bunter Blumen steht eine von einem Tschador verhüllte Frau. Doch das schwarze Gewand bedeckt sie nicht völlig - ihr Oberkörper ist unbekleidet. Allerdings sind die nackten Partien nur schemenhaft zu erkennen, denn Talepasand verbirgt die Details hinter hautfarbenen Quadraten, die an vergrößerte Pixel erinnern. Diese Methode der Darstellung wirkt ambivalent: Einerseits bieten Pixel Schutz vor neugierigen Blicken, andererseits wirkt das Bild wie eine Aufforderung, genauer hinzuschauen und das versteckte Motiv zu dechiffrieren.

Ob Tino Sehgal in der Rotunde des New Yorker Guggenheim Museums seine "Situationen" inszeniert oder Marina Abramovic im MoMA über 700 Stunden auf einem Holzstuhl sitzt - performative Arbeiten, die den Zuschauer ganz unmittelbar einbeziehen, erleben momentan ein Come back. Auch auf der California Biennale. So organisieren hier die Los Angeles Urban Rangers Erkundungstouren in die Umgebung des Orange County Museum of Art. Das in spezielle Khaki-Uniformen gekleidete Kollektiv aus Künstlern, Schriftstellern und Geografen beschäftigt sich mit den unterschiedlichsten, meist urbanen "Biotopen" - vom Hollywood Boulevard bis zum öffentlichen Strand von Malibu. Auch David Wilson fordert die Biennale-Besucher auf, sich zu Fuß in reale Sphären zu begeben. Er hat eine Karte entworfen, die sie zu Orten führt, an denen die für viele kalifornische Communities typische Mischung aus vom Autoverkehr geprägter Vorstadt und Gewerbegebiet besonders deutlich manifestiert. Und während Agitprop die Museumsbesucher interviewt, wird Flora Wiegmann, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Tanz und Kunst arbeitet, im Laufe der Biennale 13 Performances realisieren.

Auch Fans von Malerei und Fotografie können bei der California Biennial spannende Entdeckungen machen. Die abstrakten Kompositionen von Patrick Wilson scheinen Hard Edge und Color Field Painting ins 21. Jahrhundert zu transportieren. Seine präzise abgezirkelten Linien und Flächen zeugen von einer immensen Sensibilität für die Wirkung von Farben, Formen und Texturen. "Wenn Donald Judd Regenbögen designt hätte, könnten sie so aussehen", so die L.A. Times. In klassischem Schwarz-Weiß sind dagegen die Fotoarbeiten von Dru Donovan gehalten. Sie inszeniert ihre jugendlichen Protagonisten in Szenen, die sich nie völlig entschlüsseln lassen. Die zahlreichen Studiobesuche von Sarah Bancroft haben sich gelohnt. Auch in ihrer aktuellen Ausgabe stellt die California Biennial eine vitale Szene vor, die so vielleicht nur in der von Vielfalt geprägten Kultur Kaliforniens entstehen kann.
A.D.

2010 California Biennial
Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach
24.10.2010 - 13.03.2011




Newsletter
Bleiben Sie immer Up to Date in Sachen Gegenwartskunst – mit ArtMag. Abonnieren Sie hier unseren Newsletter.
 

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

Feature
Yto Barrada „Künstlerin des Jahres“ 2011 der Deutschen Bank / Howard Hodgkin: Das Geheimnis der Farbe / Ein Gespräch zwischen David Moos and Richard Armstrong / Per Kirkeby: Ein nordischer Solitär / Ein Interview mit Katharina Grosse / Frieze Direktor Matthew Slotover im Interview / ArtMag-Umfrage: Sind die neuen Finanzplätze auch die neuen Kunstplätze?
News
Edge of Arabia: Deutsche Bank unterstützt Ausstellung in Istanbul / Deutsche Bank mit dem Art & Work Award ausgezeichnet / Deutsche Bank fördert Edward Hopper-Schau im Whitney Museum / Die Highlights der Frieze Art Fair 2010 / Die aktuelle Ausstellung in der Wall Gallery der Deutschen Bank / Veranstaltungen des Deutsche Guggenheim zum Berliner Art Forum / Ayse Erkmens Projekt für das Witte de With / Youtube Play: Shortlist bekannt gegeben
Presse
Pressestimmen zur Frieze Art Fair 2010 / Pressestimmen zu Being Singular Plural / Presse zu Beuys and Beyond in Buenos Aires
Impressum  |   Rechtliche Hinweise  |   Zugänglichkeit  |   Datenschutz  |   Cookie Notice
Copyright © 2012 Deutsche Bank AG, Frankfurt am Main


+  ++  +++